University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

John Bengson

Associate Professor (University of Texas, Ph.D. 2010)

Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology

bengson@wisc.edu

5169 Helen C. White

Harry Brighouse

Mildred Fish Harnack Professor of Philosophy and Carol Dickson Bascom Professor of the Humanities (USC, Ph.D. 1991)

Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Education

mhbrigho@wisc.edu

5119 Helen C. White

Emily Fletcher

Associate Professor (University of Toronto, Ph.D. 2012)

Mellon Chair in Ancient Greek Philosophy

erfletcher@wisc.edu

5173 Helen C. White

Martha Gibson

Director of Undergraduate Studies (UW Madison, Ph.D. 1989)

Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind

migibson@wisc.edu

5117 Helen C. White

Paula Gottlieb

Professor of Philosophy and Affiliate Professor of Classics (B.Phil, Oxon. 1983; Ph.D., Cornell 1988)

Ancient Greek Philosophy; Ethics

plgottli@wisc.edu

5139 Helen C. White

Daniel M. Hausman

Herbert A. Simon Professor (Columbia, Ph.D. 1978)

Philosophy of Economics, Metaphysics

dhausman@wisc.edu

5197 Helen C. White

Paul Kelleher

Associate Professor (Cornell, Ph.D. 2008)

Political Philosophy, Bioethics

jkelleher@wisc.edu

1430 Medical Sciences Center

John Mackay

Assistant Professor (Princeton, Ph.D. 2011)

Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic

jmackay2@wisc.edu

5167 Helen C. White

Farid Masrour

Associate Professor (Arizona, Ph.D. 2008)

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Epistemology and Kant's Theoretical Philosophy

masrour@wisc.edu

James Messina

Assistant Professor (UCSD, Ph.D. 2011)

Kant, Early Modern Philosophy, German Idealism

jmessina@wisc.edu

5115 Helen C. White

Steven Nadler

William H. Hay II Professor & Evjue-Bascom Professor in Humanities (Columbia, Ph.D. 1986)

Early Modern Philosophy, Jewish Philosophy

smnadler@wisc.edu

5109 Helen C. White

Sarah Paul

Associate Professor (Stanford, Ph.D. 2009)

Philosophy of Action, Philosophy of Mind

skpaul@wisc.edu

5163 Helen C. White

Anat Schechtman

Assistant Professor (Yale, Ph.D. 2011)

Early Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics

aschechtman@wisc.edu

Russ Shafer-Landau

Professor (University of Arizona, Ph.D. 1992)

Ethics

shaferlandau@wisc.edu

5165 Helen C. White

Lawrence Shapiro

Professor (University of Pennsylvania, Ph.D. 1992)

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology

lshapiro@wisc.edu

5111 Helen C. White Hall

Alan Sidelle

Professor and Chair (Cornell, PhD 1986)

Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language

asidelle@wisc.edu

5185 Helen C. White

Elliott Sober

Hans Reichenbach Professor & William F. Vilas Research Professor (Harvard, Ph.D. 1974)

Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Mind

ersober@wisc.edu

5199 Helen C. White

Hank Southgate

Lecturer (Northwestern, Ph.D. 2010)

Kant, 19th century philosophy

southgate@wisc.edu

5137 Helen C. White

Jesse Steinberg

Faculty Associate and Assistant to the Chair (University of California Santa Barbara, Ph.D. 2006)

Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science

jesse.steinberg@wisc.edu

5185 Helen C. White

Robert Streiffer

Associate Professor of Philosophy, Bioethics, Agricultural & Applied Economics, and Veterinary Medical Science (MIT, Ph.D. 1999)

Bioethics, Ethical Theory

rstreiffer@wisc.edu

5101 Helen C. White

Michael G. Titelbaum

Professor (University of California, Berkeley, Ph.D. 2008)

Epistemology, Ethics, Metaethics, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Decision Theory, Political Philosophy

titelbaum@wisc.edu

5113 Helen C. White

Peter B. M. Vranas

Professor (MIT, Sc.D. 1992; Michigan, Ph.D. 2001)

Philosophical Logic, Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Formal Epistemology, Metaphysics

vranas@wisc.edu

5171 Helen C. White

Emeritus Faculty

James Anderson

Started at UW: 1990

Retired from UW: 2012

Michael Byrd

Started at UW: 1972

Retired from UW: 2004

Claudia Card (1940-2015)

Started at UW: 1969

Retired from UW: 2015

Donald Crawford

Started at UW: 1968

Retired from UW: 1992

Fred Dretske (1932-2013)

Started at UW: 1960

Retired from UW: 1990

Haskell Fain (1926-2018)

Started at UW: 1956

Retired from UW: 1991

Malcolm Forster

Started at UW: 1987

Retired from UW: 2017

Lester H. Hunt

Started at UW: 1985

Retired from UW: 2016

Website

Terry Penner

Started at UW: 1970

Retired from UW: 2003

Marcus Singer (1926-2016)

Started at UW: 1952

Retired from UW: 1999

Ivan Soll

Started at UW: 1965

Retired from UW: 2011

Dennis Stampe

Started at UW: 1965

Retired from UW: 2008

Keith E. Yandell

Started at UW: 1966

Retired from UW: 2011